A selection of reviews.

“Nice apartment with magnificent view.”
Reviewed 30 August 2016
A beautiful apartment under the beautiful city of Comares. The apartment is well equipped. The pool and terrace with a beautiful view. The owners are helpful and nice. We felt very comfortable.

“Very nice apartment.”
Reviewed 3 September 2016
The reservation and booking was uncomplicated and easy. The way to find the apartment was very good described and we found it directly. We enjoyed the nice pool, the beautiful view from the balcony and the air conditioning if the nights were too hot to sleep. Comares is a friendly and very nice typical Spanish village. We enjoyed our stay.

“An relaxing experience to behold”
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Casa La Molina offers 4 well appointed Holiday apartments and we have had the pleasure of spending 4 weeks in apartment 1 on our last visit in June of this year. Located at the edge of the historical village of Comares, Casa La Molina is the ideal place to soak up the sun, relax and enjoy beauty of the mountains of Andalucia. Having visited the area for the past 15 years it is difficult to find anything that measures up to these modern apartments with such stunning views, a very good pool and air-conditioning too. Owners Jenny and Philip go out of their way to offer a friendly good quality service that has never been anything but excellent. I think we will be back again.

“Very clean, well equipped apartment.”
Reviewed August 26, 2016.
This is a very clean , comfortable and well equipped apartment. Lovely balcony with great views down to the sea. Small pool in very well kept area with plenty of sun loungers etc. Phil and Jenny are lovely to deal with and very helpful. We always enjoy our stays here and this was our fourth visit in recent years.

“A fantastic holiday, nice pool, great apartment, panoramic views, quiet, relaxing”
Reviewed August 10th, 2016
Our second time at Casa la Molina a wonderful place to rewound the battery's away from the hustle and bustle of the coast. A real Spanish village with a authentic bars and restaurants a short walk away. A car would be a must really for a little extra exploration or visits to other towns and coast. A great place for walking and relaxing good internet in apartment and helpful hosts if need be, pool small but perfect for cooling down and sunbathing, reading a book overlooking the mountains. Enjoy.

“Great!!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014
My husband and our 5 year old son had a wonderful vacation in casa la Molina. We stayed there for a bit more than a month, the place was absolutely great with beautiful views. We travelled a lot and it was a real
pleasure coming back to our casa that was quiet and peaceful. We stayed in apt #3 and #4 which had all you need for a comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this place for families and couples.  We're really grateful to Jenny and Philip (the owners) who made us feel like home. Really nice and friendly people! We'll definitely come back again!

“Great Location”
Reviewed 26 September 2014
Casa La Molina is a perfect location if you like to get away from the crowds and have amazing views. Our apartment had everything we needed except for a patio umbrella which Jenny and Phil provided when we enquired. There are 3 restaurants within a short walk and we can recommend Mirador and Molino de los Abuelos which is located in the town square. A car is essential and there are lots of places to visit in the area. Comares is a lovely town with an interesting history, it's extremely hilly but you can do as much or as little as you want. We love this part of Spain and would not hesitate to book again with Jenny and Phil.

“Fabulous apartment in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 8 September 2014
The apartment had everything we wanted, balcony overlooking the small pool, lots of room inside with air con that we hardly used as the patio door and windows let lots of fresh air in, which is vital in mid July. kitchen had everything you need and lovely bathroom. Plenty of parking across the road as its unlikely you'd get here by any other means. Comares itself is a beautiful little place with fantastic views of the mountains and down to the sea. A great place to stay put or as we did to tour Andalucia. A definite recommendation from us.

“Different apartment, same great holiday”
Reviewed August 29, 2014
This was our second time at Casa La Molina, this time staying in apartment number 1. As before, the apartment is well furnished, comfortable and very well equipped. Apartment 1 has a large balcony which has some welcome shade most of the day, comfortable outside seating and a lovely wooden table for al fresco meals. Philip and Jenny are wonderful welcoming hosts and it was a real pleasure to see them again.  Comares is a beautiful, quiet location - the views from the balcony are stunning - with everything you need. Despite its apparent remoteness, the more touristy destinations of Nerja, Torre del Mar and Malaga are all within easy reach in a car. We don't make a habit of returning to the same place but this is our second visit in 14 months and I rather get the feeling we'll be back... maybe next time to coincide with the Feria (kicking-off as I type) or perhaps Semana Santa...

“Comares Apartment”
Reviewed 7 August 2014
Clean and comfortable apartment in the beautiful village of Comares. Superb views down to the sea. Air conditioned. Plentiful parking just across the road. Swimming pool available to all apartments, well supplied with loungers etc. Well equipped most things that you would need. Would happily stay there again.

“Superb mountain / countryside flat at value prices...super clean!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014
Just back from 2 week stay in lovely, well equipped apartment at value prices. No scrimping in flat. Lots of comfort, mod cons, space, air conditioning. Lots of tranquility at pool. Frequently only people there... Just marvellous !

Marvellous mountain accommodation!
Reviewed 29 July 2014
Wonderful, comfy well equipped flat at value prices . So well thought out. Nothing too much trouble. Peace, tranquillity, pool and shop/restaurant nearby owned by lovely andalucian people ! Just go there ....as long as you love the real Spain and a quiet life which will totally rejuvenate you.

“Stunning views from a hilltop apartment.....”
Reviewed June 10, 2014
We stayed for 8 days in early June. Jenny and Philip were there to meet us and show us round and answer any questions about the locale, including local restaurants, beaches, nearest shops etc. They were so friendly and helpful. The apartment itself was great, well equipped, very clean, modern and had everything you needed. The pool was lovely, again very clean, extremely welcoming during some fantastic weather and with plenty of loungers around although we had sole use for some of our stay. Comares is a beautiful village, has a good little shop, bars and good value restaurants, and the views from the apartment are stunning. The local beach is good although no-one thought to warm the sea up! We also visited Granada and Vinuela. All in all, a great place to stay.

“A great place to stay - would stay again.”

Reviewed April 11, 2014
The apartment is spacious and fixtures, fittings and furniture are all of a high standard making for a very comfortable stay. The bed was great and linen etc were of a very good quality. The kitchen area is modern, clean and provides every utensil you can think of. As there was a problem with the Sky connection (this was countrywide) the owners Jenny and Philip provided lots of DVD's (also a great reading library). As we were arriving on the Sunday and no supermarkets would be open Jenny kindly offered to do some food shopping for us which was really kind. The pool area is small but lovely with plenty of sun loungers etc. The location of the apartment is great - just 100meters down the hill from Comares which is a lovely unspoilt village and a wonderful place to stay. I would certainly stay here again and can highly recommend this accommodation and the area.

“Would definitely recommend”
Reviewed October 1, 2013
It is a lovely place with an amazing view. The location could not be better. Very welcoming and helpful owners. We had a nice and relaxing time there.

“A relaxing taste of Spanish life.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013
The apartment we rented at Casa La Molina exceeded all expectations. Jenny and Philip were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was fantastically well equipped from a cool box to guide books to sky TV! We had a relaxing, peaceful week in Comares and the surrounding area which felt authentic but not remote. Thank you.

“Fantastic place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013
Very recommend these apartments and place for the excellent rest. Fine equipped rooms with all you need for perfect rest. Absolutely beautiful views from terrace and balcony. You will never forget this place. We come back there third time and find something new all the time.

“Sunny Days of our lives”
Reviewed September 20, 2013
We spent wonderful days at Casa la Molina, enjoyed the beautiful views, the sea and the weather. Not be wrong saying that it was our best vacation. And of course we have stored a lot of sun, strength to survive our long winter. We sincerely appreciate kindness and help of Philip and Jenny in organising our holiday. We travelled a group of people of different ages and absolutely everyone in Comares found his zest exactly what you want, when you say the word vacation. Our parents had a quiet time away from the hustle and cares, the children enthusiastically frolicking in the pool, but we ourselves willingly and with interest the rounds of the neighbouring towns, museums and, of course, shopping. Very much hope that our visit will not be the only.

“That was a lovely travelling. So nice, so cosy place so many interesting views”
Reviewed September 17, 2013
We really appreciate Jenny and Philip for opening this perfect place for us! It was a pleasure to stay in such a beautiful and absolutely quiet home. The apartments are perfect - cosy and comfortable, you can find here everything you need for unforgettable rest. We can't forget nice views of surrounding. So many places of interest. Very peaceful and beautiful beaches, many perfect goods and products. We are planning our next vacation only in Comares - time is never enough to see everything there in Andalusia. Jenny and Philip are really hospitable and open minded people. Thank you again and again!

“A tranquil haven with all mod cons”
Reviewed August 19, 2013
Casa La Molina provided excellent accommodation - bright, clean, modern and very comfortable. Its situation in the hilltop village of Comares provided wonderful views, whilst providing peace and quiet and a taste of authentic Spanish village life. An excellent base to explore Andalucia, the apartment also kept us cool with its air condoning (and its lovely pool), whilst also keeping our teenage daughter happy with its free wifi.

“Peaceful, relaxing, comfortable and fun”
Reviewed August 16, 2013
There's not much more to add to the other reviews of Casa La Molina other than to reiterate all that was said before. Jenny and Philip are the most welcoming holiday let owners we have ever met. The apartment is spacious, well equipped and comfortable and the view is second to none.  It's a bit of a drive up from the coast to Comares, but when you sit on the balcony at the end of the day, you realise it's absolutely worth it for the view. We loved Comares as well, with plenty of little streets to explore, a few bars and a couple of restaurants (which I will review separately). Although we don't usually return to the same place for a family holiday, somehow I suspect we'll be coming back here in the near future...


“Perfect for our needs”

18 August 2013
Just a short note to say how much we enjoyed our week at Casa La Molina. The apartment was perfect for our needs, with views that we shall certainly miss! The pool was ideal, and Comares certainly seemed like a tranquil haven away from the madness on the coast!! It was an ideal base from which to tour. I last visited Andalucia 21 years ago, touring the major towns and cities. However, the Axarquia provided some wonderful scenery which will draw us back in the future, we are sure. We enjoyed the challenge of driving the back road to Colmenar! We will certainly recommend Casa La Molina to family and friends.

“Fantastic holiday, a getaway from the hustle and bustle, just what we wanted.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013
First of all I need to say Jenny & Philip who own the apartment were 2 of the nicest people we've ever met. The apartments are great for a base to see the surrounding area or just for a place to relax and unwind. We stopped in apartment 4 which was spacious and comfortable but most of all the views from the balcony and sitting room window were amazing. Don't hesitate to book if you want all of the above you won't be disappointed.

“Excellent accommodation, wonderful views”
Reviewed July 23, 2013
We stayed here for 2 weeks in July, 2 adults and 2 children. The house is divided into 4 separate apartments all with own door entrances. The 4 apartments share a pool. We stayed in a two bed apartment and viewed the one bed apartment beside us which was empty at the time. Both apartments were spotlessly clean, fully equipped; each room had individually controlled air conditioning. There was a DVD library, a book library, a sky box showing all UK channels on the TV. The kitchen was well equipped and per the description on the web site. The bedrooms and beds were fairly basic but adequate. The 2 bed has a South facing balcony with superb views all the way to the sea about 30km away. The owners provided us with a shopping list in advance by e-mail and everything we ordered was there waiting for us on arrival; it was better than Tesco on line and saves you looking for the basics on your way over from the airport. The pool was small, but it was as described on the web site. It was the perfect size for children splashing about but it would be crowded with more than say 5 or 6 children. I am not sure what the maximum capacity of the whole building is but I suspect it is about 6 or so children, so it is unlikely to be a big issue. The pool is unsuitable for doing “lengths”.  Out the door and turn left, 2 minutes’ walk into Comares and you are at a pub and a restaurant with a chemist and 2 more bars and a small supermarket in the town also. Turn right and 1 minute walk and you are at two more restaurants (one of which was awful and one was excellent – the owners will tell you which one is which –or just look for the one that had diners and avoid the one that is empty). A 5 minute drive and there are 2 more restaurants: The Tabletop restaurant is excellent.  The fantastic view comes with a price; the price is the road up to the property. You just need to relax and accept that for the last 7 kilometres, you will simply crawl up a well surfaced, 2 lane road with a safety barrier; in second gear and it will take 10 minutes to do the 7k. Hair pin bends and very steep inclines but very manageable and if you enjoy driving, these make the journey interesting. I would not attempt it in a very small car with a big load, but I saw a 2CV make it up no problem; our 1.4 managed it with no issue (damage to the clutch is generally not included in rental car insurance) The trip from Malaga airport is 30 minutes on motorway, 10 minutes on an A road, 10 minutes on a B road and 10 minutes climbing. The beach is 30 minutes away and all of the high-rise apartment resort nightmares are about an hour away – Comares is the exact opposite to Torremolinos or Marbella, the karaoke is replaced with cricket and bird song, the food is Spanish, not egg and chips; although I did get egg and ham soup once on a local Menu del Dias having misunderstood the waiter.  The owners Philip and Jenny could not have been more helpful , even down to travel advice on a day trip to Gibraltar (2 hours’ drive). I would recommend this apartment to anybody who wants to get away from it all but still be just 30 minutes from urbanity; even if most of that distance is vertical.

“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 2, 2013
The apartment had everything that we needed, was spacious and very clean. Was above and beyond my expectations

“Beautiful apartments in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 30, 2013
If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a picturesque mountain setting this is the place to stay. The apartments are a home away from home and have everything you will need. They are clean are spacious. The pool is also very clean. All bedding and towels are provided so no need for that extra weight in your suitcase! There are popular beaches and resorts about a 30 minute - hour drive away but casa la Molina gives you a peaceful setting to come home to.


“Holidays here only get better and better.”
This was our fourth visit to Comares and Casa Molina and our first trip without our sons, what a fantastic week we had. We were expecting cooler weather in November so came well prepared although it was a lot warmer than what we left in Scotland. Casa Molina is what we would now consider a home from home. Well equipped in every way and very comfortable, there was even an electric blanket. We have now stayed in each of the apartments and the views are spectacular from every window. A fantastic get away from it all holiday although never too far away from the coast and all the great attractions the region has to offer. Well done Phil and Jenny, keep up the good work !

“A Haven of Peace and Tranquility”
I stayed at Casa la Molina twice within three months and both experiences of the apartment were highly contrasting, given the fact the first visit was in the sweltering July heat and the second in cool, rainy October. The July visit afforded ample opportunity to benefit from the “outdoor lifestyle” aspects of the property: breakfast on the balcony every morning and indeed plenty of other meals, taking in breath-taking views of the mountains and plenty of time spent relaxing by the pool with a good book. My experience of the apartment second time round was none the less wonderful despite rather cool and wet weather; it just made me appreciate the indoor facilities even more. I felt I was quite happy spending lots of time in the apartment because it just felt like home. If the weather was poor, we simply pulled down the blinds and selected one of a wide choice of DVD's, played chess or had fun knocking up a paella with authentic Spanish ingredients from Coviran (which literally sells everything!) and profiting from the well equipped kitchen that has every utensil you could possibly need. Don't be put off if, like me, you don't wish to hire a car. There are plenty of exciting walks straight from the property and local buses go in both directions from just a few steps away. This is certainly not a location for young party goers but as a very busy 48 year old Spanish teacher, I appreciated the chance to have a chat with a few of the locals up in the village, enjoy walks with stunning scenery and indulge in quiet periods of reflection due to the different pace of life in Comares. I've only stayed at Casa La Molina twice but it's already starting to feel like a second home and I'm bound to be back.

“Spain in the mountains”
Casa La Molina, offers superb creature comforts in all its modern apartments. We should know because we have stayed in all 3 of them! We have been drawn back to the beautiful mountains of Andalucia for the past 7 years, but now Casa La Molina offers us a perfect safe location, within close walking distance of the romantic historical village of Comares. Owners Phil and Jenny go that extra mile and have always gone out of their way to give good friendly advice and up to date news prior to our holiday to ensure our stay has been both trouble free and enjoyable.

“Great up market self-catering accommodation in beautiful Moorish village within 30 minutes of the coast”
We have stayed at Casa la Molina twice now, and will be back again. It is set on the outskirts of the beautiful village of Comares, with fantastic views of the surrounding hills and down to the coast, and for us is idealic. The apartment is well appointed, spacious and comfortable, the area around the pool gives an air of tranquility and makes you feel very reluctant to leave (even for a cold beer from the apartments fridge). The village shop is well stocked and we could rely on it for all our provisions for our two weeks stay. Walking around the village is a joy and the people are very friendly. There are several bars and a few places to eat, within walking distance of the apartments. There are many signposted walking routes round the village taking from 45min to 10 hours for the very fit! All in all a wonderful "get away from it all" destination! The owners are genuinely friendly and helpful people who leave you to enjoy your holiday but are always ready to help if needed.

“A fantastic, relaxing week in picturesque Andalucia”
My husband and I have just returned from a week at La Casa Molina, and we had the most fantastic time. The accommodation surpassed our expectations, spacious, modern and very comfortable. The view from the apartment is spectacular and we enjoyed our meals on the balcony admiring the surrounding countryside. A BBQ is provided for your use and a great pool area with sun loungers and chairs to relax in and enjoy the sunshine.
The location is also fantastic, so easy to find your way from Malaga, but close enough to the coast to get out and about during the day without having to get up really early or travel for hours in the heat. As well as trips to the coast, we drove to Granada which only took 2 hours and enjoyed a great day in this beautiful city.
The village of Comares itself is worth exploring too. So quintessentially Andalucian, we loved meandering through the tiny white walled streets and finding the Moorish remnants. The locals are friendly and accommodating and there are a couple of bars, a few restaurants, a supermarket, pharmacy and cash machine all close by in the village.
We really loved our holiday here and would recommend it as a great place to unwind and slip into Spanish life.

Catherine & Toby
Thank you for such a great holiday! We got back to Jersey last night and back to work tomorrow.
We had a wonderful time in your fantastic apartment. It was absolutely perfect for us and in a brilliant location. We would certainly consider staying with you again as and when we return to Spain.
If you need a testimonial, we would be happy to provide one.

Fiona, Sean and Cameron
We are having the most wonderful time in your stunning apartment and we are all blown away by the sunrises and sunsets sat on your balcony. It has just been an added bonus for us that it has been so quiet and Cameron has had the pool to himself! Sean is hard to please when it comes to travelling, but even he says it is the most beautiful place he has been to. Thanks for all the information as well, we are off for a walk shortly and having dinner in the main village plaza tonight. Thanks again,

Sheila and Chris
We had a wonderful time at Casa la Molina - very relaxing and stress free - just what we wanted!  Although our calf muscles certainly worked harder with all that walking up and down slopes....
Everything was fine with the apartment - and it suited us well.  We would be happy to recommend it to others should they be heading to that area.

Penny from Bournemouth. Philip and Jenny were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make us welcome and our holiday enjoyable. They even got a birthday cake for us as one of the children has a birthday the day after we arrived. The apartment is very well equipped, bright and airy with lots of information about the surrounding area. Again Jenny and Philip were helpful with their local knowledge. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this apartment.

Fiona from Exeter. The villa had the most extraordinary and amazing views of anywhere we have stayed before. The apartment was fitted out to a very high standard, with everything we could possibly need. The lovely pool was a huge bonus and we particularly liked it being only one of 4 apartments and so were very much undisturbed. We were really sorry to leave and would love to come back.

Jacki & Alan from Bristol.
Have just returned from a fantastic, relaxing week in Comares, which retains its unspoilt Spanish village character. The apartment owners, Philip and Jenny were there to welcome us on arrival at nearly midnight and were only too willing to tell us of all the best local haunts to visit. They had done some basic shopping for us as we had requested as the shops are closed on Sundays. The apartments are all of extremely high standard, nothing has been forgotten and the views are spectacular. Although an hour or so from the coast and airport it is still possible to visit as far afield as Granada or Ronda for a day trip, details of which are available in the apartment. For anyone wanting a taste of uncommercialised Spanish life this is the place to come

Lynn from Redhill. Another great holiday in Comares. Weather excellent and the views get better. Very good restaurant in Comares excellent food and very friendly service. Highly recommend if you are looking for peace and quiet and to get away from it all.

Ken from Manchester.
The apartments are stylish, finished to a high standard, and have a security gate with intercom for privacy. There are splendid views from windows/balconies and all around the area due to the high position of Comares. The road up from the coast is good and well surfaced, and although there are some tight bends it is not unduly difficult. There is bar, and also a very attractive and good restaurant in Comares in the old olive mill, run by an entertaining and friendly pair who also speak good English. There is also another restaurant but we didn’t have a chance to try it. There isnt that much in Comares itself to occupy you, but the apartments are well placed for exploring the wider area, and having a meal or drink in the town is cheap enough and a relaxing end to the day (we paid 77Euro for 4 starters/mains and 2 desserts with soft drinks. Bottled beer was 1.50/2 Euro). Eating out in this area is generally much cheaper than in more touristy areas. The apartment owners, Phil & Jenny are very friendly and always available and eager to help. There doesnt seem to be much thats too much trouble for them. If you want to see a part of Spain thats not completely succumbed to tourism whilst enjoying stunning scenery then you cant do much better than this.

Lynn & Phil from Redhill. If you are looking for a holiday to totally unwind and completely chill out then this is the place to go. The apartment is of a high quality and very tastefully decorated. The view from the balcony is stunning and you can see for miles. The village is very quiet and it is a short walk from the apartment, you will find the locals very friendly. Local restaurants are very good especially the Mirador. We highly recommend this apartment and hope to return again. Jenny & Phil the owners are very friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome.

Sarah from Bridgewater. Have just arrived home from a wonderful stay in this lovely apartment, clean-super- home from home . As described and excellent value, although it is situated up a not for the faint hearted road! but it does have fantastic views, the drive from airport to apartment door can range from an hour upwards, and be assured when you get there you will be warmly welcomed and eager for a lovely swim in the pool, if you want quiet, views, and eager to soak up the spanish life style this is the place to visit, you will not be disappointed.

Kath from Wigton. Casa La Molina was a fantastic, clean, well equipped apartment, excellent value for money with lots of extras provided, stunning views and a lovely pool area. The owners Jenny and Phil were very welcoming and friendly. The village of Comares was 100 yards up the hill and the setting was perfect for us, with breath taking views. The village is still very spanish and unspoilt. There are several bars and a couple of restaurants and the locals are very friendly. The area is excellent for walking and for anyone who likes a holiday somewhere quieter and less commercial than the bigger resorts. It takes half an hour to get to the apartment from the motorway - it is hairpin bends so be careful! I can't say enough good things about this apartment - it's facilities and setting are fantastic and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.